Skip to content
September 1, 2011 / chanaman

things you learn from little toddlers

Working for eight hours with fifteen toddlers requires substantial effort. I am not exactly taking care of all the children in my class but the ratio of teacher to children is 1:6. It is a handful, literally. I am constantly learning and every session at the childcare centre is best described as an unfolding adventure; be it good or bad.

And I will be honest. I do not have extensive experience with children and my intention of working at the childcare was primarily for the money. So to wake up at an ungodly hour of 6.45 in the morning, I wonder at times, while driving to work – why am I putting myself through this..

I remember after putting away the toys on my very first day. I turned around for a second only to find the basket that I just packed away overturn, and the one beside it also tipped over, while the toddlers happily threw toy cars and trains around. If only I were the kids, and they were the toy cars

One moment they cry, kick, scream while rolling around on the floor and it appears the  louder the tantrums, the more satisfaction they get. Then you say “special toy, and cake” and immediately all smiles and no tears.

Also bathroom and nappy change times are another ordeal. A constant tug of war. Some kids are obedient enough to go to the toilet after being told once. But they love playing with water. Once I caught this little guy washing his hands three times – pressing the soap dispenser, rinsing his hand, pressing the soap dispenser, rinsing his hands, pressing soap dispense and then proceeding to splash water everywhere. Cute. But not funny when you are the one having to clean up with four other toddlers awaiting to use the bathroom.

While others literally have to be wrestled down despite having pooped in their pants.  They simply despise having their nappies changed. Cleaning up behind the children, wiping them down, changing their nappies, and having them wipe their tear-stained, saliva and boogie-dripping face on your jacket clearly defines childcare as a no glamour job.

Yes, admittedly there is this new found respect for all the care givers that actually look after children responsibly. I think mum is secretly happy that I landed this job, because now she goes, “so you now understand the things that I had to put up with you.”

Like the past few Thursdays I walked into a room of crying toddlers. But there were two particular incidents  that occurred today which made me laugh, laugh at myself to be precise. I will share one in this post.

Little M pointed towards the radio that was humming a nursery rhyme and yelled “Musiccc..ourphouchacouhc” (unintelligible gibberish).

I stared at him and replied “M, what is it that you want buddy?”
Again, “Music! souhoasdouchou”
I responded, “Hey buddy, I don’t understand you.”
This time he yelled, “MUSICCCCCC!!! chouhoucupislo”
“Hey M, why don’t you go over there and play with your friends.”  Being a 2.yo kid who does not speak much English because his mum speaks to him in French, I figured that this conversation was going no where. He does not understand the word water, so you have to say aqua instead. For example: do you want to drink aqua?

Instead of going elsewhere to play, he firmly holds onto the handle bars of the cupboard and struggles to lift himself onto the table top. I watch him intently while attempting to decipher his next move. I knew I was close enough to catch him if he fell, so he was in no danger. But what was he trying to do? Still grabbing onto the handle bars, Little M successfully manages to hoist his upper body onto the table top. Stretching out his little fingers as far as he could, he reaches towards volume knob of he radio and slowly turns it up. After doing so, he immediately slides off the table and looks directly at me, claps his hands while jumping from his right to left foot. He laughs. I laugh.

Alas, He wanted me to turn up the music! And I did not understand. But clever little M knew exactly how to do so.

I related the incident to my mum and she chuckled saying, “He probably thinks this teacher is stupid. Don’t know how to turn the music up – must show her how.”

Leave a comment